Thanksgiving-y Things

I love Thanksgiving for a lot of reasons.  1) an excuse to indulge in way too much food and booze 2) it’s the kick off to the actual holiday season; not the holiday season retailers started in September 3) sitting around the table and saying what we are thankful for – I think this should be a daily routine instead of a Thanksgiving only routine.

Thanksgiving also gives me a reason to bake like a fool! This year I was assigned 3 pies to make…I’ve been calling it the pie-fecta; whitty.  I kept it classic with a pumpkin, apple, and Toll House pie.

{Pumpkin Pie}

I wanted to make this from scratch but with two other pies to make, that didn’t happen.  Making it with canned pumpkin isn’t a cop out though, it looks, smells and tastes just as good!  Combine 1 can of pumpkin, 1 can of condensed milk, 2 eggs, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, few dashes of salt in mixing bowl.  Toss into your pie shell and bake for 15 minutes at 425 degrees, reduce heat to 350 and continue to bake for 35-40 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.  Easy peasy!!!

{Apple Pie}

I don’t know why but this one intimidated me, but I went for it anyway!  This pie calls for 2 pie shells, I put the first one in the pie dish and rolled out the second one on a cutting board and cut out cute little leaf shapes (keep the cut outs to line the pie crust).  But really this pie was very easy!  You will need about 6 cups of  peeled and thinly sliced apples (I used green apples), 1/3 cup of sugar, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp. flour, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 2 tsp. lemon juice, some butter for dotting.  Combine sliced apples and ingredients in a big bowl, your hands are the best tool for this.  Fill pie shell evenly and dot with butter, then add top pie crust.  This is also where I added the cut out leaves, a cute little fall-ish touch!  Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes then reduce heat to 375 and bake for 40-45 more minutes.  I would suggest covering with foil after the first 10 minutes so you don’t over brown your crust!

{Toll House Pie}

MY FAVORITE!  I’m not a huge fan of apple and pumpkin pies but I am a fan of chocolate gooey deliciousness.  Toll House pie is essentially a large chocolate chip cookie in pie form, and like the apple and pumpkin, super easy to make.  Combine 2 eggs, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 3/4 cup softened butter in large mixing bowl.  Once mixed, add in about a cup of chocolate chips.  You can also add a cup of chopped nuts but I 86 those in my version.  Pour into pie shell and bake for 55-60 minutes.  DONEZO!

I loved making all these because the house smelled soooo yummy and really got me in the holiday spirit!  1 tip to pie making: don’t feel the need to make the crusts perfect, personally, the uneven and unkempt edges make it look homemade and give it that rustic feel.

In addition to baking, I made some drunken cranberries.  Something I did last year and loved, so I tweaked it a little and went for it again this year.

Don’t they look delish?!  I love a festive cocktail and these do the trick!  Start with a bag of cranberries, it will feel like a small bag but the berries are pretty big.  Unless you are hosting 20+ peeps, 1 bag will do.  Toss into a large Tupperware and pour a small bottle of brandy over top.  This does not need to be fancy brandy, the one I bought was under $6.   Add some fresh squeezed orange juice, even some of the grated rind.  Allow to sit for a few days.  When ready to serve put a few of your drunken cranberries into a champagne flute and fill the glass with, you guessed it, champagne. You can also add a tiny splash of the remaining brandy to give it a little kick!  Not only is this a gorgeous drink, but perfect to have while serving apps and relaxing before dinner! Cheers!

We don’t want to forget our fingertips this Thanksgiving!  You will no doubt be passing plates and dishes around the table and there’s no better stage than that to showcase some pretty tips!  Plus you don’t know when you might need to drawn an impromptu hand turkey with the little ones.  Gobble Gobble.

I’m an OPI junkie and this color is My Private Jet.  A perfect Thanksgiving shade, it’s a dark brown with wee specs of glitter.  (apologies for the semi blurry photo).  I never met a holiday I felt didn’t deserve a shimmery manicure!

Happy Thanksgiving!  What are you thankful for?

GMT

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving-y Things

  1. hey girlie! Just came accross your blog through IFB network, I am in charlotte too! just trying to get to know other charlotte bloggers! love love love your blog! I am a panthers fan as well 🙂 hope you have a good holiday!! keep in touch!
    Pam

Leave a Reply

